The first Gold Jose Rizal Medal (later: Jose Rizal International Medal) was initiated.

The Gold Jose Rizal Medal is another prestigious medal awarded to outstanding personalities from outside the Asia-Pacific region, who have made exceptional contributions to ophthalmology in the Asia-Pacific area.

(Second right) The late (Baron) Prof. Jules Francois, the then President of the International Council Ophthalmology, was the first awardee of Jose Rizal International Medal. With him were Prof. Kobchai Prommindaroj, Congress President of the 8th APAO Congress.